The Not-So-Funny Day

Standard

There is nothing quite like being awake at 4:30 in the morning & hearing two sets of feet running for the bathroom at the same time because they’re going to be sick. I”m grateful I have two bathrooms. The Girl was upstairs. The Boy was downstairs. I just sat on the stairs waiting for whoever yelled the loudest.

Little known fact: I don’t deal well with puke.  At the same time, kids don’t deal well with “Hey sweetie, could you clean that bucket out yourself? That’s grossing me out.” Everyone says it’s different when it’s your own kid. It’s not. It’s still puke. The only thing that gets me through is the strong desire not to look like a wuss in front of The Kids.

There was one bright spot when The Boy was puking. He stared into the toilet as I rubbed his back & tried not to gag. Then he looked up & said, incredulously, “Ham! It looks like ham! How can it look like ham? I haven’t eaten any ham!” Trust me. It was the funniest thing that was said all day. Well that, and hearing The Boy walk past his sister & say, “Pew! I’m just going to breathe near you. Not smell.”

Leave a Reply

